Growing better wine from the ground up

10:00am Friday, 4 June 2021
5:00pm Friday, 4 June 2021
Regional venues
Regional venues:
Barossa | Coonawarra | Mclaren Vale | Yarra Valley | Ararat | Wangaratta | Griffith | Orange | Hunter Valley | Stanthorpe | Margaret River |, South Australia 5000

Session 1: Financials Drivers to Change

This Session will focus on what financial levers drive the adoption of management practices. Topics covered will include landscape management through regenerative farming, the influence of market demands to change production strategies, macro market drivers of agricultural production, and financial incentive programs to increase farm biodiversity.

  • Chair, Brooke Howell, Yalumba
  • Robert Poole, KPMG
  • Peter Barrett, Linnburn Station
  • Hayley Pubrick, Tahbilk

Session 2: Vineyard Floor Management

Vineyard floor management is one of the most critical aspects of maintaining good soil function for the production of wine in a changing climate. This session will highlight issues such as the impact of various weed management practices on crop production, and the effects of undervine cover crops on mycorrhiza. With herbicide access and efficacy reducing in different parts of the world, we will also explore the future of weed management and alternative methods of control for different weed situations.

  • Chair, Dr Mark Krstic, AWRI
  • Mark Krasnow, Thoughtful Viticulture Ltd
  • Melissa Brown, Gemtree Wines
  • Joseph Marks, University of Adelaide
  • Dr Mercy Olmstead, Gallo

Session 3: Additives, management and plant response

Soil related plant response is often attributed to additives in the soil. This session focuses on some of the management practices and additives used in these situations. The impacts of cover cropping on the carbon cycle, improving moisture retention and yield in warm inland regions with additives, as well as the uses for bio stimulants and biochar.

  • Chair, Roberta De Bei, University of Adelaide
  • Professor Tim Cavagnaro, University of Adelaide
  • Sam Bowman, Bowman Viticulture
  • Dr Tommaso Frioni, University Cattolica Piacenza
  • Justine Cox, NSW DPI

Session 4: What’s next?

This session will offer thought-provoking discussion from 2019 Nuffield Scholar Richard Leask and several earlier speakers, who will contemplate solutions to existing problems, and how to build a vineyard of the future and approaching problems from a different perspective.

  • Chair, Andy Clarke, The Dirt Dude
  • Sam Bowman, Bowman Viticulturel
  • Melissa Brown, Gemtree Wines
  • Dave Gerner, Wine Australia
  • Richard Leask, Leask Agri
  • Hayley Purbrick, Tahbilk
10:30 AEST16:30 AEST
10:00 ACST16:00 ACST
08:30 AWST14:30 AWST



Alexandra Oval Community Centre
1 Waratah Avenue, Ararat
*Now online due to COVID Lockdown


The Barossa Cellar
991 Stockwell Road, Vine Vale


The Tradies
2 Badham St, Dickson




Chardonnay Lodge
15006 Riddoch
Highway Coonawarra


Murrumbidgee Irrigation
86 Research Station Rd, Hanwood

Hunter Valley

401-427 McDonalds Rd, Pokolbin

Margaret River

Margaret River Visitor Centre
100 Bussell Hwy, Margaret River

McLaren Vale

McLaren Vale Function Centre
McLaren Vale Motel & Apartments
Main Rd & Caffrey Street, McLaren Vale


The Hive
25-27 McNamara St, Orange


22 Caves Road Stanthorpe


CSU Campus Tone Road Wangaratta
*Now online due to COVID Lockdown

Yarra Valley

Nan Francis Room at The Memo
235 Maroondah Hwy, Healesville
*Now online due to COVID Lockdown

Sponsors & Partners

The ASVO is acknowledges and thanks all sponsors for their generous support.

To join our list of sponsors, please contact Chris













 Participating Regions 


Sold Out
Ticket Holders
Dr Roberta DeBei
Ms Kerry DeGaris
Mr Peter Dillon
Ms Robyn Dixon
Mr Stuart Dudine 3134
Dr Katie Dunne
Mrs Roslyn Edwards
ms Maryann Egan
Mr Adam Elbourne
Mr Adam Elbourne
Mr Peter Emerson
MS Nicole Esdaile
Mr Marcel Essling
Ms Lucy Etheridge
Mr Darren Fahey
Mr Fil Farina
Mr Steven Faulkner
Mr Richard Fennessy
Mr Rhys Fitzgerald
Mr Stephen Flamsteed
Ms Shirley Fraser
Mr James Freckleton
Ms Tarita Furlan
Ms Frances Futter
Mr Matt Gant