Due to the continuing disruption from the Covid-19 pandemic, ASVO has with regret made the decision not to hold this year Awards for Excellence in person.  In light of the current situation, we believe that it is neither possible for interstate members nor financially viable for the ASVO  at this time to hold a live event. However you will still be able to celebrate with us on Wednesday 17 November as we will broadcast the event online.

The ASVO Awards for Excellence recognises the achievements of some of the most dedicated and professional individuals in the wine industry. ASVO Award recipients are nominated by ASVO members, with the finalists decided by an ASVO Board appointed selection committee, comprised of individuals who themselves are distinguished in the fields of viticulture and oenology who demonstrate exceptional leadership ability and vision. Winners of the ASVO Viticulturist and ASVO Winemaker of the year, along with the ASVO Best Viticultural Paper of the Year, Best Oenology Paper of the Year, and the Dr Peter May Award for the most cited AJGWR paper published in the previous five years, are announced at an Awards ceremony and dinner in November each year.

The awards span four broad categories – Inspiring Excellence with the announcement of the 2021 scholarship winners, Research Excellence with three Awards, Dr Peter May Award Viticulture Paper of the year and Oenology Paper of the year, two awards for Professional Excellence, being Viticulturist and Winemaker of the Year, and the evening concludes by recognising members who are deemed worthy to receive the highest accolade being invited to become a Fellow of the Society. 
For a full list of the 2021 finalists please click here.

ASVO would especially like to thank its Platinum sponsors AWRI Commercial Services, Elders, as well as gold and silver sponsors, Braud, CHR Hansen, EcoTrellis, Laffort, Lallemand, Pellenc, and partners Australian Grape and Wine, Wine Australia, Wine & Viticulture Journal and Wiley.