



# 38<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting of

# the Australian Society of Viticulture and Oenology Inc.,

held on the 12<sup>th</sup> of November, 2018 in the Charles Hawker Centre, Adelaide

The Chair, Dr Anthony Robinson, declared the Annual General Meeting open at 5:30pm

#### **Attendance**

Twenty-nine (29) members, were in attendance as recorded on sheets at door of meeting;

Kristy Bartrop	Kerry DeGaris	Brooke Howell	Jacqui McRae
Jenny Bellon	Richard Fennessy	Patrick Iland	Paul Petrie
Paul Boss	Paul Grbin	Vlad Jiranek	Tony Proffitt
Rob Bramley	Richard Hamilton	Dan Johnson	<b>Tony Robinson</b>
Chris Brodie	Mike Hayes	Fiona Kerslake	David Wollan
Dimitra Capone	Peter Hayes	Mark Krstic	
Andy Clarke	Markus Herderich	Terry Lee	
Bob Dambergs	Matt Holdstock	Mardi Longbottom	

#### Eighteen (18) members submitted proxy forms;

Duncan Hamm	Stephen Phillips	Brian Walsh
Paul Hotker	Leigh Schmidtke	Liz Waters
Tony Ingle	Vanessa Stockdale	
Brett McClen	John Thorngate	
Anthony Murphy	Mike Trought	
	Paul Hotker Tony Ingle Brett McClen	Paul Hotker Leigh Schmidtke Tony Ingle Vanessa Stockdale Brett McClen John Thorngate

## **Apologies**

Paul Hotker

Twenty-two (22) member's apologies were recorded.

Nick Bulleid	Mark Krstic	Tony Proffitt	Rob Walker
Catherine Clarke	Andrew La Nauze	Leigh Schmidtke	Brian Walsh
Gregory Dedman	Brian Light	Alana Seabrook	Liz Waters
Anthony Devitt	Brett McClen	Vanessa Stockdale	
Jeremy Dineen	Steve Partridge	John Thorngate	

Murray Paterson Mike Trought

#### 1. Confirmation of Minutes

The Chair, noted that a quorum was present in accordance with the constitution.

Confirmation of minutes of the Annual General meeting held on the 15<sup>th</sup> of November 2017.

MOTION: That the minutes are recorded as a true and correct record of the 37<sup>th</sup> AGM. The motion was moved by Richard Hamilton and seconded by David Wollan. The motion was carried.

#### 2. President's report.

The Chair presented the report to the members making particular mention of the many and varied voluntary contributions to the Society from members who served on advisory committees, planning committees and other advisory roles.

The Chair acknowledged and thanked employers who allowed Directors to spend time on the Society matters.

The Chair told members that improvements to the Judge register had been made including a new gender filter in consultation with the Australian Women in Wine board.

The chair told members that re negotiation of the Wiley contract had allowed increased frequency of circulation of the Australian Journal of Viticulture and Oenology transitioning from 3 to 4 issues per year with the first issue delivered to all members free of charge. The chair noted that there had been a reduction in processing times, but the impact factor had decreased. The chair stated that there had been 82,000 downloads in the last financial year and the Advisory committee expected the impact factor to recover.

The Chair thank the Editorial team and recognised the reviewers and Associate Editors for their continued commitment to improving the Journal and welcomed Assoc. Prof Kerry Wilkinson (Deputy Editor) to the editorial team.

#### 3. Treasurer's report

The Treasurer (Kristy Bartrop) presented the audited financial reports for the year ended 30 June 2018 to the members.

The Treasurer summarised the report noting that a small surplus had been delivered. revenue was higher than the previous year as a result of increased membership and invested reserve funds. The Treasurer noted that the equity was stable and that cash reserves were increasing.

MOTION: That the Treasurer's report is accepted. The motion was moved by Paul Petrie and seconded by Fiona Kerslake The motion was carried.

#### 4. Board elections

The Chair reported the outcomes of the election for the four regional positions on the board. The chair welcomed newly elected and returning Board members.

South Australia Assoc. Professor Paul Grbin

Victoria Andy Clarke
WA, QLD, Tas Richard Fennessy
New South Wales Kristy Bartrop

The Chair thanked all candidates for their participation and acknowledged the other candidates for their desire and willingness to play a greater role in the Society.

#### 5. Admission of Fellows of the Society

The chair announced that the committee had recommended that two members be admitted, and the Board had unanimously decided to accept their recommendation. The Chair announced that Dr Robert (Bob) Dambergs and Dr Richard Smart had been invited to become fellows of the ASVO and both had accepted the invitation.

The Chair invited Dr Dambergs to give a response to members. Following Dr Dambergs response Dr Patrick lland read a response provided by Dr Richard Smart.

### 6. Special resolution

The Chair provided members with background on the proposed changes to the constitution, noting that the process had been lengthy with input over several years by a number of Presidents and contained contributions from many members.

The Chair opened the meeting for comment on the proposed constitution. RB asked if the Board intend to continue to review the constitution as there was in his mind a number of areas that could still be improved particularly the restrictions around regionality in the Board composition.

The chair replied that review of the constitution on a periodic basis was a normal part of the boards responsibilities.

The Chair moved the special resolution

MOTION: That the current Constitution of the Australian Society of Viticulture and Oenology (ASVO) be repealed and the proposed new Constitution, be adopted as the Constitution of the ASVO.

The Chair asked members present to vote (by a show of hands). The motion was carried unanimously.

#### 7. Other business

The Chair invited all those present to raise any matters of relevance that have not been dealt with on the agenda

There being no further business the Chair declared the meeting closed at 5:36pm



