2017 Awards dinner *SOLD OUT*

Awards dinner has sold out (again). The Society is gearing up to make the fifth annual Awards the best yet. Held in conjunction with Crush we are expecting more than 200 guests, and we would like to thank our members for their continued support and participation in making the awards a success. The dinner at… Continue reading »

Registrations now open for the ASVO oenology Seminar & workshop, “Sensory evaluation – a taste of the science”

Registrations are now open for the Australian Society of Viticulture and Oenology (ASVO), Oenology Seminar, “Sensory evaluation – a taste of the science” to be held on Wednesday 15th November at the Waite Campus, Adelaide. Local and international guest speakers will report on the most recent developments in sensory science and provide updates on innovative… Continue reading »

2017 ASVO AWAC scholarship winner

Matthew Large, Shadowfax Wines, Victoria A major objective of the ASVO is to promote education in viticulture and oenology and to ensure and maintain the highest standards of quality for these educational objectives. This year the ASVO is supporting one of its members to participate in the Advanced Wine Assessment Course (AWAC), delivered by the… Continue reading »

2017 ASVO Winemaker of the Year finalists

ASVO is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2017 ASVO Winemaker of the year award. Finalists: Julian Allport, Winemaker, Moore’s Hill, Tasmania Jeremy Dineen, Chief Winemaker, Josef Chromy Wines, Tasmania Fiona Donald, Senior Winemaker, Seppeltsfield, South Australia Mike Hayes, Viticulturist and Winemaker, Symphony Hill Wines, Queensland Read more here The winners of the ASVO… Continue reading »

Finalists announced Viticulturist of the year award 2017

The Australian Society of Viticulture and Oenology (ASVO) is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2017 ASVO Viticulturist of the year award. Finalists: Nick Dry Lee Haselgrove Liz Riley The winners of the ASVO Viticulturist and Winemaker of the year will be announced at an Awards ceremony and dinner on November 14th at Carrick… Continue reading »

Mildura Seminar almost sold out!

The  ASVO innovation seminar in Mildura, is almost sold out! If you’re interested in joining us for this exciting seminar you should register as soon as possible to avoid disappointment.

Future Leaders of 2017

Congratulations to Dr Anthony Robinson. We are pleased to announce that our Vice President, Dr Anthony Robinson, has been chosen by Wine Australia to be part of the 16 talented people who are the Future Leaders of 2017. The Future Leaders alumni include many Society members who have been identified as rising stars and are… Continue reading »

Laura Menozzi Award: Innovation in Oenology

ASVO sponsor AEB, a company leader in technologies and biotechnologies for the oenology sector, is pleased to launch the inaugural Laura Menozzi Award. This international competition opened May 16th and is open to all professionals in the oenology sector and the winner will receive a grant of 10,000 euros. The grant has the aim to… Continue reading »

Dr Anthony Robinson – Top of the class

From L-R: Associate Judge Ben Thoman (Orlando Wines),  Tony Robinson (Treasury Wine Estates)  and Chairman of Judges Matt Harrop (Shadowfax Wines). Image by John Kruger. Copyright Barossa Grape & Wine Association. ASVO Director, Tony Robinson (Treasury Wine Estates) and Ben Thoman (Orlando Wines) were announced Dux of the 2016 Barossa Wine Assessment Training at a… Continue reading »