2018 awards winners announced

ASVO President Dr Anthony Robinson last night announced the Awards for Excellence winners for 2018 at a sold-out dinner at the National Wine Centre. Di Davidson AM, master of ceremonies for the evening, kept things flowing calling on Brian Walsh, Wine Australia chair, to open the night and last year’s winners Liz Riley (2017 Viticulturist… Continue reading »

2018 Awards for Excellence dinner. Tickets on sale now!

Be quick this event has sold out the last two years running. Tickets are now available to attend the annual ASVO Awards for Excellence Dinner on Tuesday 13th November, to celebrate the achievements of some of the most dedicated and professional individuals in the Australian wine community! The ASVO Awards for Excellence was established in… Continue reading »

Record numbers attend fermentation seminar

Record numbers attended the latest ASVO seminar entitled, “Fermentation Converting research to reality” held concurrently in six venues across Australia. Wine industry professionals came together to hear and discuss much needed information from A distinguished array of speakers including France, Spain and the USA on the trends, concerns and practical challenges encountered during fermentation as… Continue reading »

2018 Oenology Seminar: Fermentation – Converting research to reality

Places are filling fast for this one-day seminar on Thursday 27th September focusing on fermentation technology, management, and microbial diversity. You will have the opportunity to gain insights from international and local experts who will explore topics including microbial ecology in wild ferments, the use of non-Saccharomyces yeast, microbial contribution to regional wines, using oxygen… Continue reading »

Finalists announced for 2018 Viticulturist of the year award.

(L-R) Kerry DeGaris, Nick Dry, Colin Bell The Australian Society of Viticulture and Oenology (ASVO) is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2018 ASVO viticulturist of the year award. The ASVO Awards for excellence are now in their 6th year and continue to grow. ASVO President Dr Tony Robinson said the awards recognise the… Continue reading »

Frontline pest and disease management for healthy vineyards Mildura, Launceston, Granite Belt and Margaret River

July 25-26, 2018 Don’t miss this! Only three short weeks to go… Another strong field of speakers are assembling for Australia’s favourite seminar. The seminar will provide much needed information on the trends, concerns and practical challenges encountered and the most recent innovations solutions adopted against vineyard pests and diseases. Speakers will present new and… Continue reading »

Nominations for 2018 Awards now open

Do you know someone doing outstanding things in the wine sector? Take a moment to acknowledge someone whom you believe has excelled in their field, so they may be honored nationally for their contributions to the wine industry. All you need to do is send us their name and email, we will do the rest…. Continue reading »

Applications now open for the 2018 ASVO Scholarship to attend AWAC

The 2018 ASVO Scholarship to attend the Advanced Wine Assessment Course (AWAC) administered by the Australian Wine Research institute (AWRI) is now open. The ASVO Scholarship is a nationally competitive scholarship which offers high-achieving individuals an opportunity to undertake vocational or professional development in wine assessment. The ASVO Scholarship is part of the highly valued… Continue reading »