Nominations open for the ASVO Awards for Excellence

The 4th annual Australian Society of Viticulture and Oenology’s (ASVO) Awards for Excellence have been officially launched, with the ASVO today calling for nominations for the prestigious awards.

Since their inception, the ASVO Awards for Excellence have attracted a high calibre of entrants and are now recognised within the industry as a demonstration of expertise for wine industry professionals to aspire to and achieve.

The ASVO awards aim to promote excellence through recognition and reward of high achievers in innovative practice; those who are striving to raise practice standards and, individuals who, through their professionalism, provide a model of practice which others seek to emulate.

In addition to existing awards for viticulturist and winemaker of the year and best viticulture and oenology research papers, a new award has been added to the ASVO Awards for Excellence in 2015. A scholarship will be offered to one talented individual to attend the Australian Wine Research Institute’s highly regarded, four-day intensive Advanced Wine Assessment Course. This new award is generously sponsored by Seguin Moreau. Seguin Moreau’s General Manager – Sales and Marketing Australia & New Zealand, Graeme Little is proud to align Seguin Moreau with the ASVO. Little said, “This scholarship provides an opportunity to a wine industry professional to pursue an experience that, without the support of the ASVO & Seguin Moreau, would not be realised. Everyone needs opportunities and I see this scholarship as a chance for someone to further their education and follow their passion“.

ASVO Award finalists will be unveiled in October, with winners announced during an award presentation evening at Carrick Hill on Thursday 19th November.

The awards are in five categories:

  • ASVO Viticulturist of the Year Award – sponsored by Bayer CropScience
  • ASVO Winemaker of the Year Award – sponsored by ASVO
  • ASVO Best Viticultural Paper of the Year Award – sponsored by Wine Australia
  • ASVO Best Oenology Paper of the Year Award – sponsored by Wine Australia
  • ASVO AWAC Scholarship – sponsored by Seguin Moreau

Key Dates:
Nominations close: Friday 25th September 2015 5pm CST
Awards announcement: Thursday 19th November 2015

2014 Winners:

Matthew Bailey – Viticulturist of the Year (Taltarni Vineyards)
Sue Bell – Winemaker of the Year (Bellwether Wine)
Jason Smith – Best Viticultural Paper (National Wine and Grape Industry Centre)
Richard Gawel – Best Oenology Paper (Australian Wine Research Institute)

Nomination forms are available here

Comments are closed.