ASVO announces new President and changes to its Board

The Australian Society of Viticulture and Oenology (ASVO) today announced that Dr Mardi Longbottom – Senior
Viticulturist, Australian Wine Research Institute (AWRI), has been appointed President of the ASVO.
Upon accepting the appointment Dr Mardi Longbottom said “I am honoured to be elected and I would like to
thank outgoing President, Paul Petrie, for his hard work and dedication. His insight and focus have been invaluable
during his term as President.”
Mardi replaces Dr Paul Petrie who is standing down, having led the Board since 2010. Petrie now takes on the role
of Secretary, a positon previously held for two terms by Dr Bob Dambergs. Longbottom is joined by Vice President
Brett McClen, Chief Viticulturist at Brown Brothers, and Kristy Bartrop from the Riverina Winegrapes Marketing
Board who continues in the role of Treasurer.
ASVO also thank outgoing Directors Dr Mark Krstic and Dr Bob Dambergs, for their outstanding work in what were
and continue to be uncertain times for the wine industry.
The new board members are:

Dr Mardi Longbottom President (Vice President from November 2013)
Mr Brett McClen Vice President
Ms Kristy Bartrop Treasurer, (Regional Director, NSW)
Dr Paul Petrie Secretary & Public Officer
Prof. Vladimir Jiranek (Regional Director, SA)
Mr David Wollan (Regional Director VIC)
Dr Tony Proffitt (Regional Director WA, QLD & TAS)
Prof. Mike Trought

Dr Anthony RobinsonASVO Board members (L-R) Tony Proffitt, David Wollan, Paul Petrie, Tony Robinson, Mardi
Longbottom (front), Brett McClen (back), Mike Trought, Kristy Bartrop and Vladimir Jiranek.

Comments are closed.