Viticulturist of the Year

Entries are now open for this year’s Viticulturist of the Year award, sponsored again by Bayer, and we’re keen to get as many entries as possible.

When Ashley Ratcliff won in 2013, Max Allen wrote in The Australian: “It’s about bloody time hard-working viticulturists such as Ashley received this sort of public recognition.” We agree, which is why we’re urging every innovative viticulturist in Australia to enter.
Rewarding innovation
The VOTY award recognises significant innovations, but they don’t have to be major projects in big wineries – just evidence of forward thinking that could help improve the future of the industry. The three previous winners have been recognised for projects as diverse as:

  • addressing root-zone salinity in drip-irrigated vineyards,
  • encouraging the proliferation of beneficial insects, and
  • identifying grape varieties that are more likely to cope with the changing climatic conditions ahead.

If you are a viticulturist trying new approaches to any aspect of vineyard management, or you know someone who fits that description, please support this innovative award. The more entries we can attract, the more ground-breaking initiatives we can help publicise.

This year’s winner will also receive free registration for The 16th AWITC & TE 2016 at the Adelaide Convention Centre next July.

You can download an entry form here. Entries close at the end of September.

Comments are closed.