ASVO Fellow selection committee


Dr Anthony Robinson, Chair, Society President

Tony is based in the Barossa Valley and is the Grape and Wine Innovation Specialist for Treasury Wine Estates. He started his career in 2000 and has worked in a range of roles across the wine industry from retail to research to viticultural management and winemaking. Anthony has a PhD in Science (Oenology) and is best known for his integrated industry perspective, passion for research, and collaborative drive.
As a winemaker, he has produced wines for innovative and award-winning brands, while as a researcher, he has published a number of peer reviewed papers on wine chemistry and sensory science. Anthony has organised and presented at technical conferences in Germany, France, USA and Australia. He has also been actively involved with Australian wine industry bodies, such as WFA, ASVO, and AWITC, and is an advocate for independent wine benchmarking through the show system.


Dr Peter Dry, Fellow of the Society (2012)
Dr Peter Dry (BAgSc, MAgSc, PhD, FASVO) has more than 45 years of experience as a viticultural scientist, mainly as an academic at Roseworthy Agricultural College (1975 -1990) and the University of Adelaide (1990-2008). He was also a part-time consultant at the Australian Wine Research Institute (2008 to 2014). Although now retired, he continues his research and other interests as both Adjunct Associate Professor and Emeritus Fellow. He is the author of more than 300 scientific and technical publications including 7 books. He was the 2014 recipient of the McWilliams Wines Maurice O’Shea Award.


Dr Di Davidson AM, Fellow of the Society (2016)

Di  has worked for 40 years in the agricultural and horticultural industries of Australia as well as in several other countries, notably South Africa, New Zealand and India. For much of that time she managed her own consulting practice Davidson Viticulture, and was privileged to work with many clients in every wine region of Australia. She still manages her own vineyards in the Adelaide Hills.She was a founding member of the ASVO and has served on innumerable industry committees, including 9years on the board of the GWRDC.

Di is currently working on major water reform in Australia as a board member of the Murray Darling Basin Authority and is also a Director of the Plant Biosecurity CRC. She is currently the Deputy Chancellor of the University of Adelaide.

Di is a Fellow of the Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering and of the Australian Institute of Agricultural Science. She has been appointed an AM in the Order of Australia for ‘services to the wine and horticulture industries and higher education’.


Louisa Rose, Fellow of the Society (2017)


Louisa is highly respected with in the wine industry across areas of winemaking, viticulture and industry leadership. During her 25-year career at Yalumba, Louisa has championed technical change in the winery and has overseen significant shifts in practice including the change from inoculated ferments to the wider use of natural ferments in a larger commercial winery situation, practices to reduce the use of animal-based finings and opening new market opportunities for vegan wine.

Louisa has led the evaluation of new grapevine clones and championed the variety Viognier. Beyond this she has been a remarkable in her promotion of alternative varieties, and has been an integral part of the Australian Alternative Varieties Wine Show as a committee member, judge and ambassador. Louisa has been extremely active as a wine show judge in Australia and overseas– acting in the roles of judge, panel Chair and wine show Chair.
She has received a number of accolades from key wine shows and media entities such as: The Age’s – Best Winemaker 2014, Gourmet Traveller Wines – Winemaker of the Year 2008, and the Women in Wine Award from the International Wine and Spirits Competition in 2004.

Louisa joined the ASVO in 1991 and has been an active contributor to the Society, presenting at numerous technical workshops and seminars and also contributing as a technical speaker and session chair at several Australian Wine Industry Technical Conferences. Louisa was named the 2013 ASVO Winemaker of the Year in recognition of her work on the adoption of natural ferments and the reduced use of animal-based fining products in a commercial winery setting. She has continued to have input into this award and has chaired the ASVO Winemaker of the Year selection panel for the past two years.