ASVO announces new President and changes to its Board

The Australian Society of Viticulture and Oenology (ASVO) today announced that Dr Mardi Longbottom – Senior
Viticulturist, Australian Wine Research Institute (AWRI), has been appointed President of the ASVO.
Upon accepting the appointment Dr Mardi Longbottom said “I am honoured to be elected and I would like to
thank outgoing President, Paul Petrie, for his hard work and dedication. His insight and focus have been invaluable
during his term as President.”
Mardi replaces Dr Paul Petrie who is standing down, having led the Board since 2010. Petrie now takes on the role
of Secretary, a positon previously held for two terms by Dr Bob Dambergs. Longbottom is joined by Vice President
Brett McClen, Chief Viticulturist at Brown Brothers, and Kristy Bartrop from the Riverina Winegrapes Marketing
Board who continues in the role of Treasurer.
ASVO also thank outgoing Directors Dr Mark Krstic and Dr Bob Dambergs, for their outstanding work in what were
and continue to be uncertain times for the wine industry.
The new board members are:

  • Dr Mardi Longbottom President (Vice President from November 2013)
  • Mr Brett McClen Vice President
  • Ms Kristy Bartrop Treasurer, (Regional Director, NSW)
  • Dr Paul Petrie Secretary & Public Officer
  • Prof. Vladimir Jiranek (Regional Director, SA)
  • Mr David Wollan (Regional Director VIC)
  • Dr Tony Proffitt (Regional Director WA, QLD & TAS)
  • Prof. Mike Trought
  • Dr Anthony Robinson
  • Mr Tony Battaglene0045

ASVO Board members (L-R) Tony Proffitt, David Wollan, Paul Petrie, Tony Robinson,

Mardi Longbottom (front), Brett McClen (back), Mike Trought, Kristy Bartrop and Vladimir Jiranek.

Discount on AWITC registration for ASVO members

The ASVO is pleased to announce that we have successfully negotiated a discount registration pricing agreement with the AWITC. The issue has engendered considerable interest among members for some time and in response, the ASVO opened up negotiations with the AWITC board. The discount pricing agreement is the result of this strategic initiative that is intended to leverage the ASVO buying power and is a way of adding further value to your Association membership

Scholarships to attend the IX International Symposium on Grapevine Physiology and Biotechnology

The ASVO is pleased to announce that five students have been successful is gaining scholarships to attend the IX International Symposium on Grapevine Physiology and Biotechnology (Grapevine Chile 2013) in La Serena, Chile.

Marcos Bonada and Sally Foletta will both make oral presentations at the symposium, while Johannes Scharwies, Darren Wong and David Contreras Pezoa will make poster presentations.  These awards have been made available as part of the successful XIII ISGPB that was held in Adelaide in 2008. The ASVO acted as secretariat for this symposium and published the conference proceedings as a special issue if the Australian Journal of Grape and Wine Research. We wish these students well in their travels to Chile in April 2013.