ASVO Awards for Excellence

Awards Dinner | 2017 Finalists |Past winners

About the Awards

The ASVO strives to promote the advancement of professional knowledge, professional skills and professional attitudes, in the fields of viticulture and oenology, in members of the Society. In 2012, the ASVO Awards for Excellence was established as a prestigious event to promote industry excellence, foster leadership, and encourage innovation and sustainability in the Australian wine industry.

As an industry, we are fortunate to have many very skilled and professional people who are contributing significantly to the industry, inspiring those around them to seek out and adopt innovative practices.

ASVO Award recipients are nominated by an ASVO-appointed selection committee comprised of individuals who themselves are distinguished in the fields of viticulture and oenology who demonstrate exceptional leadership ability and vision. ASVO Award finalists demonstrate the following attributes:

  1. A broad positive contribution to the Australian wine industry and / or community; examples may include but are not limited to – leadership in regional, state and national wine industry committees or associations, the driving force behind innovative practices, technologies or standards, or outstanding budget/financial management.
  2. Evidence of improvement from standard viticulture and winemaking practices.
  3. Demonstrable integration of the outcomes of their contribution or innovation into the culture of the nominees’ organisation.
  4. Demonstrable efforts to share the outcomes of their contribution or innovation with the broader wine industry in either a regional, state or national capacity.

The winners of the ASVO Viticulturist and Winemaker of the year are announced at an Awards ceremony and dinner in November each year.

ASVO Viticulturist of the Year Award

This award aims to honour an outstanding viticulturist involved in the development of a novel and significant viticultural innovation or the introduction of a novel viticultural practice over the previous five years;

ASVO Winemaker of the Year Award

This award aims to recognise a winemaker within the industry who has demonstrated technical mastery over various aspects of winemaking;

ASVO Best Viticultural Paper of the Year Award and
Best Oenology Paper of the Year Award

These awards are proudly sponsored by Wine Australia and utilises an industry/science based panel to honour the authors of the respective viticultural and oenology papers where the potential application of the research to industry is deemed the most significant.

ASVO Advanced Wine Assessment Course Scholarship

The scholarship is designed to support applicants who have the potential to become wine show judges to develop the sensory analysis capabilities and the vocabulary to judge wine in Australian at an elite level.

Past winners